for each

hi,

i'm new to c++ and i'd like to implement the observer pattern.

i made an Observer.h and an Listener.h file but in my class that include those leaders, i try to implement the methods defined in the header files without success.

i dont understand if i have to use pointers or so but there's my implementation of the Observer.h notifyAll method for instance :

#include "Observer.h"

void Observer::addListener(Listener listener){
    listeners.push_back(listener);
}
void Observer::removeListener(Listener listener){
    // TODO
}
void Observer::notifyAll(){
    for (Listener l in listeners) {
        l.update();
    }
//    for (int i=0; i<listeners.size(); i++){
//        listeners[i].update();
//    }
}

here's my Observer.h file :

#ifndef emptyExample_Observer_h
#define emptyExample_Observer_h

#endif
#include "Listener.h"

class Observer {

public:
    vector<Listener> listeners;
    void addListener(Listener listener);
    void removeListener(Listener listener);
    void notifyAll();
};

i get an error on the first snippet of code at line 13: selector element type "Listener" is not a valid object

any idea ?
Last edited on
The first part of your code seems to be psuedo code, while the commented part is the C++ code.

HTH

Please use code tags - the <> button on the right
for (Listener l in listeners)

What the bejesus is that? This is not the syntax of a C++ for loop. You need to go and read up on C++ for loops.
ok, code tags fixed but have you any answer regarding my problem ?
Last edited on
If you have fixed the problem why do you need us to give you an answer to it?
Moschops,

this is the syntax of a "for in" loop proposed by XCode.

my problem is not fixed, only the use of code tags as suggested by TheIdeasMan.

but as you suggest it, i tried with a simple for loop and i have 2 others error :
Apple Mach-O Linker Error - Undefined symbols for architecture i386:
  "Listener::update()", referenced from:
      Observer::notifyAll() in testApp.o