what programs should i try to make

so i learn at school about c++, but it's pretty boring what we do there.
i know how to use functions,character sequences,operators,variables, input/output, and iostream,fstream,stdio. So what programs should i try to make?
Why not try some simple games? It will test your skills and can be fun to do...

Ideas> Tic-Tac-Toe, Guess-A-Number, card games, RPG-text game, Hangman...
An as-fast-as-possible primenumber checker, sorting algorithms.
And hacking opensource games, that is really nice.
Do something that can operate in the real world. One of my favorite programs I wrote when I started programming was a program that connected to an SQL database server I had set up. It wasn't all that hard to get the basic program up and running, and it was a good program to build on to later.
I write C++ for fun and learning.

What I'm doing is writing a bunch of little programs to do things I want to do, or find useful or just learn. Some times they are just stand alone programs, other times I hope to add them to future code.

some ideas I have played with
1. program to add numbers from command line string
example: add 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
2. alarm clock
3. calendar
4. search a file for 2 strings (instead of just one)
5. word count, line count
6. days between 2 dates, like now and Chistmas
7. search a file for string, output with line numbers

smaller projects
see if file exist from user input
delay x minutes
show date, time
menu
read/write input / output files
compare 2 times/dates

instead of hard coding in values, such as file names for example, write programs that get values from the command line.
Example: chkfile myfilename.txt

To me that makes it more useful.

one that I haven't done but am thinking about, is write a program that searches all my code for comments such as // and /*.

I see other people writing calculators, card games, number games, file input and output projects, sorting list, and txt games.