Fixing a possibly poorly initialized data member

Hi, I'm relatively new to C++. I wrote up a short program that uses the SFML library (the problem seems to be unrelated to it, though), but it doesn't act as intended. Could you guys help me with my problem?

The issue seems to lie in my two files GameManager.h and GameManager.cpp:

This is GameManager.h:

#include <SFML/Graphics.hpp>
#include "Thing.h"

class TextureManager{
	std::map<std::string, sf::Texture*> textureManager;
public:
	TextureManager()
		:textureManager()
	{}
	sf::Texture* loadTexture(const std::string& filename);
};
class GameManager{
	static std::vector<Thing*> thingList;
	static TextureManager textureManager;
public:
	static Thing* createNewThing(const std::string& spriteFilename);
};

And GameManager.cpp:

#include "GameManager.h"

TextureManager GameManager::textureManager = TextureManager();
std::vector<Thing*> GameManager::thingList = std::vector<Thing*>();

sf::Texture* TextureManager::loadTexture(const std::string& filename){
	std::map<std::string, sf::Texture*>::iterator result = textureManager.find(filename);
	if(result==textureManager.end()){
		//we have not created this image yet 
		sf::Texture* image = new sf::Texture();
		if(!image->loadFromFile(filename)){
			return NULL;
		}
		textureManager[filename] = image;
		return image;
	}
	else{
		//we have created this image before
		return result->second;
	}
}
Thing* GameManager::createNewThing(const std::string& spriteFilename){
	return new Thing(new sf::Sprite(*GameManager::textureManager.loadTexture(spriteFilename)),spriteFilename);
}