Hello! I've got a doubt

Hi, I'm new into C++ and I wanted to know if this language is useful for developing online applications.
Thanks in advance
mhenry1384 wrote:
I am primarily a C++ programmer, so I don't intend it as a slam on C++ when I say C# and Java are much more modern languages, better suited for 99% of application development you want to do. The downside of C#/Java/etc. is that the users need big bulky runtimes installed on their PCs, and if your users don't have them then they will have to install them. So it is usually better to write consumer apps in C++, where there will be few dependencies and Grandma won't have to figure out how to install .NET framework 3.0.

It's a great language to know though, if you have time, definitely learn it.
Useful, yes. Simple, not so much.
At what stage does a beginner become intermediate, and finally advanced in C++?
My friends boast about how they can know multiple languages. but would it be better to learn a little bit of each language you stumble upon or learn one language thoroughly before moving onto the next?
Right now I've been learning C++ for 9 months. Is it enough? What is needed to fully understand C++?
Blue Shell wrote:
My friends boast about how they can know multiple languages.

I used to claim I learnt VB, Java, Javascript, HTML and such, but then I understood C++ was for me and dropped all of them. You will never program in more than one language once you get advanced.

Blue Shell wrote:
but would it be better to learn a little bit of each language you stumble upon or learn one language thoroughly before moving onto the next?

I began with C++ and find it really good, even if I only used the basics of it.
Then I tried VB, but found it poor after not more a week.
Java, Javascript and HTML didn't last more.
You know a language is "made for you" because you can use it and understand it at the same time.

Blue Shell wrote: