Getting Input for a Simple Pythagorean Theorum Program

I just started learning C++ today. My only background was in TI83Basic (yeah, the graphing calculators)

I'm attempting to write a simple program to calculate the sides of a right triangle. I think my problems are stemming from a misuse of
getline(cin, var)

I realize the information is almost certainly already out there, but I'm having trouble making sense of it because I'm brand new. Could some kind person please point out my mistake? I've narrowed it down as far as I could, but I'll post the full code since I may have misidentified my mistake.

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
#include <cmath>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
  //create variables
  double a;
  double b;
  double c;
  string sel;
  cout<<"This is a basic program to calculate the sides of a right triangle.\n" <<"I am attempting to find the length of: ";
  cout<<"the (l)ong side.\n";
  cout<<"one of the (s)hort sides.\n";
  getline (cin, sel);
  if (sel == "l")
    {
      getline (cin, a);
      getline (cin, b);
      a=a*a;
      b=b*b;
      c=a+b;
      c=sqrt(c);
      cout<<"Side C= ";
      cout<<c;
    }
  if (sel =="s")
    {
      getline (cin b);
      getline (cin c);
      c=c*c;
      b=b*b;
      a=c-b;
      a=sqrt(a);
      cout<<"Side A=";
      cout<<a;
    }
  if ((sel != "l") && (sel != "s"))
    {
      cout<<"Not a valid option.";
    }
    return 0;
}

I can include the error messages if it helps, but I don't want to flood the forum with text. If my problem really does stem from my use of "getline" it might be a simple explanation. I was told, by the tutorials on this site that it was better to use "getline" than "cin" because sometimes you need to get data with spaces in it.

Also, how am I doing for 1 day of practice. Do I seem to be grasping it okay?
getline() will only load a string with data, not a double. You need to load it as a string then convert it to a double.