#ifs and assert()s

Hi there. I'm studying C++ out of C++ for dummies, 6th edition.

When it comes to #ifs, I get the general idea of what it's supposed to do, but I have trouble seeing what that could be used for. I'm on page 155 and I see some code snippets. and I'll put comments where I'm confused.

#if DEBUG == 1
inline void logMessage(const char *pMessage)
{ cout << pMessage << endl; }
#else

//It says this does nothing. Does that mean it doesn't just return 0?
#define logMessage(X) (0)
#endif

//At this point, there's a gap in the snippit where it says "I can now sprinkle
//error messages throughout my program whenever I need them:"
//Does it pick up here?

#define DEBUG 1
//This looks kind of superfluous to me. What exactly am I including here? A
//file, a function, or what? Note that it begins with upper case this time.
#include "LogMessage"
void testFunction(char *pArg)
{
logMessage(pArg);
//The next comment line is taken from the book:
// ...function continues...

So, can someone please clear this up for me?

Also, they introduced the assert(), but I have no idea where to put it or how it would be used if I did. I tried putting it in a function like:

int factorian(int N)
{
assert(N > 0);
//...program continues...

but it said that assert was not defined.

Remember, I only know what I know from the book up to page 160, so please don't get to technical on me. It's my first language and I've had ZERO experience programming before this.
#if is used for conditional assembly.

In your example, one of two definitions for logMessage will be compiled depending on the value of the preprocessor sybol DEBUG.

In the first case, a small inline function named logMessage is compiled.
If DEBUG is not 1, then a preprocessor macro called logMessage is defined.
Whenever logMessage occurs in the code, (0) is substituted. (0) is really a no-op (it doesn't do anything. A better definition would have been nothing:

#define logMessage(X)