Not Producing output?

I'm trying to convert dec to hex and I used dynamic memory to define the dimension count for the quotient array. However, by default the program should run through code and print test information (only cout there) but it produces nothing. ???

This is my first time attempting to declare an array in this way

// Debug
int placeValue(0);	// Declare place value
int decimal(0);		// Declare decimal
int base(0);		// Declare base
int remainder(0);	// Declare remainder
int * quotient;		// Declare quotient as pointer, for dynamic array initalization

int toHexadecimal(int decimal)	// to hexadecimal conversion function
{
	double base(16.0);		// initialize base to 16
	int i;					// Declare dynamic array counter

for(int j=0; placeValue<decimal;j++)
	{
		placeValue = double(pow(base,j));	// set place value for calculations (i.e. 16^0 || 16^1 etc...
		i=j;
	}

quotient= new int[i];

// Determine if decimal is greater than place value
	for(int x=0;placeValue<decimal;x++)
	{
		placeValue=double(pow(base,x));	// set place value for calculations (i.e. 16^0 || 16^1 etc... until decimal is less than place value
		placeValue=decimal?quotient[x]=1, remainder=0:quotient[x]=0, remainder=decimal;
		cout << "Place value: " << placeValue << " Remainder: " << remainder << " Quotient: " << quotient[x] << endl;	// // NOT DISPLAYING // // /////////////

}

return 0;
}

int main()
{
    int decimal(132);
    toHexadecimal(decimal);
    return 0;
}
Last edited on
closed account (S6k9GNh0)
http://liveworkspace.org/code/Rzjxw$1

This doesn't seem to compile friend.
It compiles in VC++ 2008
The first for-loop at line 13 terminates when placeValue<decimal is false.

The second loop at line 22 will never execute because it has the same while-expression.

Jim
Never mind, got it. Thanks jim80y!
Last edited on
Can somebody explain to me why the for loop is generating 1 element over the amount I'm trying to get?