Where do I start?

Ok, a little background. I am a 13 year old guy who's been using Windows computers for 4 years for general stuff and hardcore gaming. My natural interest in computers attracted me to the idea of coding. It's a very overwhelming idea to me, I first became motivated after seeing the Code.org commercial on youtube, and then I started learning HTML, wasn't my thing, then took up C++ knowing it is a fundamental.

I just finished learning what cout and cin does and I am flipping out on the mechanics of it, projecting cin to x, to assign a variable, then say x which will then transfer to what you just said. IT'S GENIUS! I understand, after some studying, the lines of code in the Hello World program, and I'm taking a tutorial class thing online. But when I see lines of code in, for example, Runescape botting scripts or Minecraft plugin scripts it's very confusing for me. How do you link something up with an image? How do you even create a game? I guess it's just all very new for me, but how do you guys deal with it? How should I do this and that is my question, it feels I've just learned a very small piece of a very giant puzzle.
Last edited on
My advice: get a game lib and start cracking. The best way to learn is to do.

Graphics are easily accomplished with a game lib. I personally recommend SFML. It might be a little difficult to set up, but it's a very good library that is powerful and easy to use. Get the latest 2.0 release (don't get 1.6)

http://www.sfml-dev.org/

EDIT: I'm bored so I'm whipping up a little demo of a simple SFML program. Stay tuned....
Last edited on
Uuhhhh, what's a game lib?
Basic SFML program:

#include <SFML/Graphics.hpp>

int main()
{
    // Create a 640x480 window, titled "My First Game"
    sf::RenderWindow        mainWindow( sf::VideoMode(640,480), "My First Game" );

// limit display output to 60 fps
    mainWindow.setFramerateLimit( 60 );

// Load a texture (an image file)
    sf::Texture     texture;