Leap from Console

Hey guys, new developer in C++. I have some experience in web work, such as working in PHP, but other than that, C++ is a new experience. The trouble is, it seems to be a large leap from doing work in the console to interacting with Windows or other entities in a meaningful way.

I have been through several "Beginner Series" and even read two books on C++, but they all worked exclusively in the console. That's wonderful, but I want to make a pretty picture pop up. Everyone speaks of SMFL, but upon downloading their SDK I was immediately way over my head.

Dependencies, having to have DLLs moved around, Linker errors up the wazoo, not sure where in Visual Studio to put everything, just a trainwreck of things that were never explained, and the documentation on SMFL's site seems to infer previous knowledge of said processes.

Where would one go to really get an easing from console work into, say, writing for Windows? If possible, I'd love to skip the preliminaries, as I'm well versed in pointers by now. But anything would help, I'm having trouble finding instruction in that middle ground that I'm at, trying to get out of the console.

Thank you in advance.
That's wonderful, but I want to make a pretty picture pop up. Everyone speaks of SMFL, but upon downloading their SDK I was immediately way over my head.

Getting it set up is the hardest part. Once it's installed it's probably the easiest way to go.

Admittedly the SFML tutorials are a little lacking... and this problem is surprisingly common for newbies. So common that I've decided to create this step-by-step tutorial to get it working with Visual Studio.

Note I know this seems like a lot of work but you only have to do it once, then SFML will work in every program with minimal effort forever.

Also note that I statically link SFML for simplicity, and also because dynamic linking on Windows is extremely problematic.