Pointers don't use memory?

I am just learning pointers in class and the book really does a poor job of explaining them. It basically says that to make a pointer able to hold a value you need to declare as follows.

int *ptr = new int;

or as shown like this

int *ptr;
ptr = new int; // creates a memory space to hold an address.

So my question is... What the heck does this do?

int x = 5;
int *ptr;
ptr = &x; //pointer had to create some memory somewhere to know the address of x.

See my point, or confusion.

So what is the difference?

Thanks!

Edited based on vlad's response. My question still stands though.

Last edited on
The correct code is

int x = 5;
int *ptr;
ptr = &x; //pointer had to create some memory somewhere to know the address of x.

When you wrote

int *ptr;

the compiler allocated memory for variable ptr that is usually is equal to 4 bytes on 32-bit systems.

Then in this statement

ptr = &x;

the memory was initialized by the value of the address of variable x.

Thank's vlad,

I actually just typo'd (forgot the ampersand) the mistake above as I do understand pointers somewhat. My question remains.

What's the difference between this?

int *ptr; // creates a pointer to an address that can hold an int

and this ?

int *ptr = new int; // creates a pointer to an address that can hold an int
In the first case variable ptr was not initialized and has an undefined value. In the second case its value will be the adrress of the allocated memory.
Last edited on
Right... I follow that vlad. Thanks again for your reply.

let's do this.

int *x;
int y = 5;
x = &y;
*x = 9; // x dereferenced

cout << "the value of y = " << y; // prints 9

int *i;
i = new int;
int j = 5;
i = &j;
*i = 4;

cout << "the value of j = " << j;