Call to global fcn in template class static helper fcn result in linker errors, but not calls in member fcns?

Hello,

I'm a newbie to class templates, and a moderate C++ programmer in general. I have a project which uses the autotools build system to create a static library. I wish to test this library by making a small test program which links to it, but am getting undefined references in the linking step I do not understand.

The test program is being created in the code::blocks IDE. The paths containing the headers have been added to the search directories, and the included library added.

When I compile my test program I get the following error:

obj/Debug/main.o: In function 'givens':
<snip> undefined reference to `xhypot(double, double)

However, xhypot is a global function declared, in an included header in real.h as:

nr_double_t xhypot (const nr_double_t, const nr_double_t);

and defined in a companion file real.cpp.

nr_double_t xhypot (const nr_double_t a, const nr_double_t b) {
    nr_double_t c = fabs (a);
    nr_double_t d = fabs (b);
    if (c > d) {
      nr_double_t e = d / c;
      return c * sqrt (1 + e * e);
    }
    else if (d == 0)
      return 0;
    else {
      nr_double_t e = c / d;
    return d * sqrt (1 + e * e);
  }
}

The type nr_double_t is defined in config.h as:

/* The global type of double representation. */
#define nr_double_t double 

Where the offending call to xhypot occurs is in a static helper function for a template class like so:

static nr_double_t
givens (nr_double_t a, nr_double_t b, nr_double_t& c, nr_double_t& s) {
  nr_double_t z = xhypot (a, b);
  c = a / z;
  s = b / z;
  return z;
}

However, xhypot is also called in other non-static member functions of the class with the exact same syntax (i.e. xhypot(double,double) and if I replace the line nr_double_t z = xhypot (a, b); in this static method with the line nr_double_t z = 0.0; the error disappears.

Here is the entirety of my test program:

#include "config.h"