Write cross-platform file IO.

Hi.

I discussed a topic about how to write cross-platform file IO code with a member named Disch for about a year ago. Since I am a beginner I am not sure if the "rules" for doing this has changed or not within C++.

He taught me that differenct CPU:s use different endianness when reading and writing to files. However, why can't the C++ standard file IO functions detect what endianness should be used on the current machine that is running the program? Why didn't the developers who created the standard library develop file IO functions that are cross-platform from the beginning? Have the rules changed since last year?

What I learn is that if you need to store data in files that will be read and written to on different machines, you have to define in the program what endianness should be used. For example, if I needed to store 4 bytes, I had to do this manually with my own functions and define in those which endianness is used.

Thanks for your help!
Best regards, Zerpent.
He taught me that differenct CPU:s use different endianness when reading and writing to files.
This isn't actually true, and I'm sure that's not what Disch said.
Endianness is a property of multi-byte values stored in memory*. If you try to read these values normally from within the program, you'll find that you can do so transparently, because the CPU knows about the endianness is used to put those values there.
The problem comes when you try something like this:
unsigned i = 42;
file.write((const char *)&i, sizeof(i));
All a file IO operation sees is an array of bytes, since that's what a file is. The above has simply copied the literal contents of memory to a file. If you try to read this file back on the same computer by copying its literal contents to memory, it'll work just fine. If you try it on a computer with a different endianness, you might get i == 704643072.