SDL window image flickers

Hi! I've been learning some programming with the SDL libraries and I've encountered a problem, whenever I debug the project, the window shown flickers with the image I'm trying to render and it doesn't respond (shows the loading cursor symbol) also the console window doesn't even open at all, I'm just starting to learn the code so hopefully it won't be a big problem to find the problem, here's the code:

#include <iostream>
#include <SDL.h>
#include <SDL_image.h>
#include <SDL_mixer.h>

using namespace std;

int main(int argc, char** argv){
	cout<<"HI!!!!"<<endl;
	system("pause");
	bool quit = 0;
    SDL_Init(SDL_INIT_EVERYTHING);

SDL_Window* window = NULL;
	window = SDL_CreateWindow("My first RPG", 100, 100, 640, 480, SDL_WINDOW_SHOWN | SDL_WINDOW_RESIZABLE);
	SDL_Renderer *renderer = NULL;
	renderer = SDL_CreateRenderer(window, -1, SDL_RENDERER_ACCELERATED);

SDL_Event* mainEvent = new SDL_Event();

SDL_Texture *grass_image = NULL;
	grass_image = IMG_LoadTexture(renderer,"grass.bmp");

SDL_Rect grass_rect;
	grass_rect.h = 250;
	grass_rect.w = 250;
	grass_rect.x = 100;
	grass_rect.y = 100;

while(!quit && mainEvent->type != SDL_QUIT){
		SDL_RenderClear(renderer);
		SDL_RenderPresent(renderer);

SDL_RenderCopy(renderer, grass_image, NULL, &grass_rect);

SDL_RenderPresent(renderer);
	}

SDL_DestroyWindow(window);
	SDL_DestroyRenderer(renderer);

delete mainEvent;
	system("pause");
    return 0;
}
I'm not practical with 2.0, but it seems like you're rendering the screen after you clear it, which should show some kind of 'empty' image that gives that flickering effect.
The window should be irresponsive because you're not processing the events correctly. Take a look at this http://wiki.libsdl.org/SDL_PollEvent .
The console window might not show up if you use an IDE and have selected a GUI project. What are you using?
Thanks! I removed "SDL_RenderClear(renderer);" and fixed it! Also I was missing "SDL_PollEvent(mainEvent);"