Multi-threading performance hits

Hi.

First post here and sorry if this has been asked a thousand times already. I'm just starting out with multi-threading and I've got it working but performance seems to degrade almost exponentially the more threads I create.

In the code snippet below, each thread calls "threadTest()" which just does a printf 4 millions times. One thread can execute the code in 4 seconds. 2 threads, 8 seconds. 4 threads, 18 seconds, etc. What would explain this performance hit? My system is a 3.6 GHz quad core running Windows 7 64 bit. My application is a Win32 app built using Visual Studio Express 2012. Thanks.

vector<thread*> threadVector;

for(unsigned i=0;i<numberOfThreads;i++)
{
   threadVector.push_back(new thread(threadTest));
}

for(unsigned i=0;i<numberOfThreads;i++)
{
   (*threadVector[i]).join());
}

void threadTest()
{
   for(unsigned i=0;i<4000000;i++)
   {
      printf("test");
   }
}
Last edited on
My guess is that printing to console is single threaded and most of the time in your application you spend on printing. Try some other operations instead of printf, that do not try to use the same resource at the same time
I tried just pushing and popping strings from a vector. Same slow down as before.

void threadTest()
{
   vector<string> myStringVector;

for(unsigned i=0;i<1000000;i++)
   {
      string myString = "";
      myStringVector.push_back(myString);
      myStringVector.pop_back();
   }
}
I have to ask.... is this with optimizations turned on?
Multithreading isn't a panacea "make things go faster".

It actually involves a little more work to keep all those threads around, so unless you know some of that is getting offloaded onto another processor-- you're getting a performance hit anyway.

Beyond that, there are technical issues. Obnoxious ones. Like these:
http://www.gotw.ca/publications/optimizations.htm