Big O Notation - HELP!

So im still learning programming and I have came across BIG O NOTATION. I don't really understand it after endless of tutorials and videos to help guide me through it.

How does the process work?
What elements are there?
How can you workout or describe the run-time bounds of an algorithm for example; a linear search algorithm?

Any help would seriously be appreciated!

Thankyou!
can you give an example. I have no idea what you are talking about :/
I don't want to just give you my algorithm... I want just an e.g. or process on how big 0 notation works, and how I go about working out and describing the run-time of the algorithm?

my algorithm is a linear search algorithm
Big O notation is a way to describe the performance of an algorithm as size of the input increases. Imagine that you timed your algorithm with input sizes of 10, 50, 100, 500, 1000, 5000, 10,000, etc. What would the graph look like? There is some complicated expression that will give you the run time, but when the input is large, most of the terms become relatively small and one term contributes the most.

So take that linear search. There is some one-time setup in the algorithm. ANd when you find the answer, there is some one-time code for returning the result. All of that takes some constant amount of time REGARDLESS of the input. Let's call that time K1.

Then there's probably a loop the searches for the item. The loop probably does the same thing each time. So it probably takes constant time to go through the loop once. Call that time K2.

But to find the answer, you have to execute the loop many times. Let's say that on average, the item you're looking for is half way through the collection, so if the input is size N then on average, you execute the loop N/2 times.

Now we can estimate the time to run the algorithm. Total time is
K1 (the setup and return time)
+ N/2 * K2 (N/2 times the loop that takes K2 time)