Basic Exercise

I am trying to come up with code that prompts a user to input three numbers (integers). The program should then output the numbers in ascending order.
I am having troubles with 1: deciding which is the very simplest way of going about this. 2: Receiving any output with this provided code. 3: where the proper placement for parenthesis are. I am a beginner, of course.

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
int a;
int b;
int c;

int smallest;
int middle;
int largest;

cout << "Please enter three positive digits for this program "
<< "to sort in ascending order: " << endl;
cin >> a >> b >> c;

if (a < b && a < c)
{
if (b < c)
a = smallest;
b = middle;
c = largest;
cout << " " << a << b << c; endl;

else
a = smallest;
c = middle;
b = largest;
cout << " " << a << c << b << endl;
}
else
if (b < a && b < c)
{
if (a < c)

b = smallest;
a = middle;
c = largest;

cout << " " << b << a << c << endl;
}
else
b = smallest;
c = middle;
a = largest;

cout << " " << b << c << a << endl;

else
if (c < a && c < b)
{
if (a < b)

c = smallest;
a = middle;
b = largest;

cout << " " << c << a << b << endl;

else
c = smallest;
a = largest;
b = middle;

cout << " " << c << b << a << endl;

else

cout << "You did not enter three valid numbers." << endl;

}

return 0;
}
#include <iostream>
#include <algorithm> // sort()
using namespace std;

int main()
{
	int ar[3] = {3,1,2};

sort(ar, ar+3);

for(auto x: ar)
		cout << x << " "; // 1 2 3

return 0;
}
Thanks for your response, anup. However, this assignment is located in very early chapters of a relatively large textbook. So, I would have to think there is a more simple way. The sections before this assignment only go as far as introducing if, else statements and switch functions for beginners.
in that case, learn some sorting algorithms. bubble sort is the easiest (& slowest) sorting algorithm. for that you need to understand nested loop first.