lists and dynamic variables

Hello again. I am still learning some basic C++. I am trying to write a short algorithm that creates a set of integers at run time and inputs them into a list. As far as I can tell, you can only dynamically create pointers not variables themselves, which is awkward if you want a list of integers as an end-product. ( I swear this was far easier to do in C#).

Is there a way to get around it or do you have to work with a list of pointers instead?
Your terminology might be a bit "off". A pointer is a variable that stores an address.

Actually, a pointer is an object, just like all data types. Objects can be either in statically allocated memory (aka variables) or in dynamically allocated memory. The location (address) of dynamically allocated memory is determined during execution of the program and should be stored, or the object in location cannot be used. Pointer stores address and has dereferencing operator. A pointer is usually not a dynamic object.

Dummy example:
int foo = 7; // static variable
int ** bar; // static variable
bar = new int*; // dynamic object. Unnamed, but lets call it "gaz"
// The address of gaz is stored in bar

*bar = &foo; // The address of foo is stored in gaz

**bar = 42;
assert( 42 == foo );
delete bar; // deallocate gaz 

Pointers are a powerful and versatile utility far beyond mere dynamic memory allocation. However, with power comes tediousness and danger.

There is encapsulation to combat those two. A more complex class can implement the tedious bits with pointers, but provide a simple interface for the users of the class.

You didn't describe your "list" in detail. Are you aware of std::list? Does your algorithm really need a list, or would a dynamic array (std::vector) suffice?
Thanks for the reply. I think i didn't word my question properly. My issue is not understanding pointers or lists. I would like to be able to create integers during run time and store them in a list. eg