Other Languages?

Pages: 12
I was wondering what everyone else felt about other programming languages. I started learning Java and decided I liked C++ more and moved into that. Now I get people telling me I should learn C# or Java because C++ is extremely complicated for no reason. I believe C++ is the most versatile language, but what other languages does anyone recommend to learn. I was thinking about learning visual basic and maybe a little more about Java. My teacher recommends not learning Java, but I thought I would get a few more opinions. Even though at the rate things are going C++ will probably have major control of my time for a long time before I feel comfortable enough to learn another language.
Very nice. Is this the way most C++ programmers feel about Java? I did have my teacher say that when java came out and said it could make the average joe a programmer he and his colleagues groaned about all the incompetent people who would start programming.
That's how me and my friends think at least. Not sure about everyone else though.
/ C++, \ Java
C++ is surely better than Java and C#. It isn't more complicated than them, it only is more powerful and multi-paradigm (so you need to learn more paradigm to know all C++)
Of course knowing also other language is not a bad thing but if you can choose on what to focus, choose C++

( Notice that in a C++ forum you would hardly find someone stating that C# or Java are better than C++ )
They're different tools for different jobs and nurture different styles of programming.

C++ is stronger if you need to get closer to the machine, Java is stronger if you're prepared to sacrifice the implied performance gain for flexibility and portability.

For example, you wouldn't seriously consider C++ for AOP. And conversly, the templates in Java are compromised.
Last edited on
firedraco wrote:
C++ > Java IMHO.

I don't particularly care for Java either, but it's not as awful as its made out to be.