Binary Help

Hello, I am currently in my last year of a four year computer science degree and I am taking C++ next quarter, so I decided to do some practice with this language. I am currently trying to write a Steganography program in C++ for practice.

In case your not familiar with what Steganography is, it is where you take an image, a bitmap in my case and hide messages in the picture by changing the LSB. Later, the image can be read and the LSB can be pulled and recombine to produce the message.

I have already done this with Java. In Java, you can open a bitmap, read it into a byte array and then you can perform operations on each element of the array, providing the header bytes are left untouched. In Java you can actually print out the array and see what each value is. I used a simple bitmap image (an all black one) and you can see that the output shows 255 for each of the bits for the 24 bit bmp that I am working with.

I am trying to do the same thing with in C++ but I can't quite get the same functionality. I have done some tests and found that I have successfully read the bitmap into an array, and wrote that array to another file and saved it. So I get two bitmaps that are identical. I tried to use a for loop to manipulate the data after index 54 (I discovered the header is 54 bytes in length) and found that the image produced is the same even if I try to set the values of those indices to 0 (white). I have also tried to print out the content of the array that I loaded the file into and it prints out a few random characters and a huge amount of blank space, but that's it. In Java, it would print out all the bytes. I tried opening the file with iOS::binary and then once without and found that the results are the same. So, I think this boils down to my lack of understanding of what is going on.