SFML 2.2 or SDL 2.0?

Hello guys,
I've been doing c++ programming for about three years and I just entered the world of game programming. I'm having some trouble with choosing a good API (or a framework?) for doing game programming on OS X with c++. I did some research on available APIs and I usually see this two things pop up: SFML and SDL. I've tried SFML and made a few programs easily but I have no any idea with SDL. But then I just noticed that many games seems to be made with SDL instead of SFML like Proteus. So I just can't decide to use which API.

Thanks a lot guys!

(I searched this topic up in the forum and all the posts that came up are pretty old, around 2010, which I don't think will be pretty useful because there are many new changes to both APIs.)
It depends on you. According to their features and portability, they're very similar. However, SFML is based on classes. SDL isn't, so you must either work with pointers (lots of pointers) or create classes on your own (which is, by the way, quite entertaining).

You can choose whatever you want. SFML is more novice-friendly, but both libraries are great in the long run.
I'll give my vote and say SDL2. I enjoy it because I can write both C or C++ code with it, and not feel like my code base is an entire mess. I've tried SFML and without going into any detail why, I don't care for it.

So SDL2 gets my vote. The fact that it's supported by Valve is a bonus, for non-technical reasons of course.
Really depends what your goal is for me.

If you're looking to jump into gameplay programming without a lot of the surrounding fluff, I'd actually go with Unity and C#. It's flexible enough to do most things.

If you want to stick with C++ or are interested in some lower-level graphics stuff, I'd go with an OpenGL + GLEW/GLFW setup (and I'd pull in the likes of GLM for helpful math stuff).

I have no real opinion on SFML vs SDL - just throwing in some alternatives.