C++11 option in Code::Blocks IDE

Hey guys!

I am a self-taught C++ programmer and have been using the DevC++ IDE to run my programs thus far. But I am disappointed that, for some unknown reason, the current DevC++ IDE I have does NOT have a means to enable the C++11 option!! That is why I'm trying out an alternative - the Code::Blocks IDE, which I downloaded from the Sourceforge.net website.

I successfully ran the ubiquitous 'Hello World' program. However, the crucial option "Have g++ follow the C++11 ISO C++ language standard [-std=C++11]" is curiously missing under Settings->Compiler!! My worst fears were confirmed when I tried to include the <random> and <chrono> header files, to no avail.

Please how can I locate/get this very much needed C++11 option and have it enabled?
Last edited on
Are you sure that your copy of Code::Blocks is up to date? I just checked in version 16.01 and saw that the setting is there.
Really? Did you check this on the Sourceforge.net website?

The Code::Blocks version I downloaded from there is codeblocks-16.01mingw-setup.exe. The reason I got this one is because I read on the www.learncpp.com website that Windows users should download the version with MinGW bundled.

By the way, there is another version on there that is just codeblocks-16.01-setup.exe. Not sure if this is the one I should download!
https://s16.postimg.org/pzbxrze4l/Codeblocks_16_01_Compiler_settings.png
I think it is dependent on what is selected in the dropdown "Selected Compiler"
I'll install this on windows too and post back with an edit.

Edit: I installed using codeblocks-16.01-setup.exe which automatically detected TDM-GCC as a GNU GCC Compiler. After running Code::Blocks and checking the settings window, I see https://s16.postimg.org/ph5mmb1ed/Capture.png

You might find that you like TDM-GCC more than regular MinGW. I highly recommend you give it a try. http://tdm-gcc.tdragon.net/ After all, it is a descendant of MinGW-64
Last edited on