Reading a part of the program (which is not a function) from another file.

Hi everyone,

I have a program like the following:

#include whatever_should_be_included

int main()
{

whatever-1

whatever-2

whatever-3

}

All those whatevers are codes in the program, including if conditions, loops and really whatever. I want those "whatever"s to be saved in files, let's say plain text files or whatever extension is necessary, let's say "exten" be the extensions, then I want to save them as:

chunk-1.exten, chunk-2.exten, .... etc files that will contain: whatever-1, whatever-2,... etc chunks of lines of codes and my program now should look like:

#include whatever_should_be_included
#include those_chunks_maybe

int main(){

chunk-1.exten;  //or whatever syntax necessary

chunk2.exten;

chunk-3.exten;

}

I am a beginner in C++ and in programming in general so please go easy on me, a step by step clear answer with a bit of explanation will be really helpful.
Last edited on
nolyc wrote:
You're trying to do X, and you thought of solution Y. So you're asking about solution Y, without even mentioning X. The problem is, there might be a better solution, but we can't know that unless
you describe what X is.

#include is equivalent to copy paste the content of the file.
Suppose my program (X) is:

#include <iostream> //etc

int main()
{

definitions of a lot of variables here   //call this chunk variable-chunk

if(condition 1){ do a lot of things 1};    //call this chunk condition chunk

for(int i blah blah blah){ do the looping and also a lot of stuff inside... }  //call this the loop chunk

here goes a few paragraphs of other codes...   //call this misc-chunk

}