page handler

I have been creating a game on c++ for a few months now and have had quite a bit of help form my teacher and fellow c++ programmers, and hi have been told my script for the text is quite...messy...and have been looking into page handlers and I've only come across one example and it limits what i want to do on my pages by making it so i have to write around 5 lines of code for it to allow certain functions to work with it, which i'd like to avoid.
if anyone could give examples of a page handler they've used and/or made, would be
greatly appreciated.

my page system looks like this:

{
			cout << "*Your eyes open you see that your in some sort of box. A coffin.\n" 
			     << "Your hand starts burning. You look down in your coffin and see a burning light\n" 
			     << "A symbol burning into your hand. Some sort of rune*\n\n\n";

do {

cout << "Wait..i recognise this..ughh..my muscles ache...\n"
				     << "It feels like ive been ripped apart and put back together..\n"
				     << "atleast i the basics, how to walk, talk, and hopefully...fight\n\n"

<< "hmm, theres tracks on the dust all over the floor. Someones been here recently.\n"
					 << "Well, theres no time to worry about that right now, the questions is...\n\n"

<< "how do i get out of here? well it looks like im in some sort of hallway.\n"
					 << "at the end it looks like a torch is down there on the wall...\n\n"

<< "*your legs like jelly, like brand new limbs*\n\n"

<< "at the end of your hallway, under the light of the torch, you notice crate with some unlit torches\n"
					 << "you pick one up and lit it on the fire of the torch above torch.\n\n";
				system("pause");
						cout << "*In the hallway, you have 2 paths, but which way should i go?*\n"
							 << "left has this foul smell, while the right has this constant drip noise echoing, or you could go\n"
							 << "and check out your tomb?.\n\n"