vector::push_back( someClass ) odd behaviour

I am generating a vector of a class. Somehow when I am using 'push_back', the length of the vector increases exponentially instead of linearly.

Certainly it has something to do with constructors and it is probably very basic but I am relatively new to C++ and couldn't solve the problem.

I would really appreciate it if somebody could help me with this.

following code produces this output:

capacity: 0
capacity: 1
capacity: 2
capacity: 4
capacity: 4
capacity: 8
capacity: 16

code:

#include <iostream>
#include <vector>

using namespace std;

class class1
{
	public:
	int a;
	float b;
};

class class2
{
	public:
	vector < class1 > c;
};

int main(int argc,char** argv)
{
	int f;
	class2 sok1;
	class1 buff;

buff.a=10;
	buff.b=10.22;

for( f=0;f<10;f++)
	{
		cout << "capacity: " << sok1.c.capacity() << "\n";
		sok1.c.push_back(buff);
	}

}
The capacity is how much size the vector has reserved. The general standard is for the capacity to double in size every time it is required to extend.

To see how many items you have in a vector, you use the .size() member.
thanks for the quick answer, looks like a really dumb question now :)
Actually, I think the standard is to increase the size of the vector by a factor less than or equal to the golden ratio.
gcc, unfortunately, doubles it, which can lead to memory fragmentation.
This is why you should use the reserve member function before pushing data into an empty vector, if you can. If you have some reasonable idea as to how large the vector might grow then you should reserve some memory for elements. This way the size can grow or shrink until the capacity is reached.
Stroustrup wrote: