calculating e^x without using exp() function

Hello, all. I am a freshman in college, and fairly new to coding. In my Computer Science I class, I have been assigned to code a function that calculates e^x without using the exp() function. The assignment before asked me to create a function that calculated the factorial of a number, and this assignment is asking me to implement my factorial function into my e^x function. My question is how could I implement my factorial function into my e^x function and have it work properly? I suspect that it's my limited knowledge of function calls and how they work. Here is my code so far. My professor was gracious enough to supply some starter code, and I've since built on it.

// Program: exp.cpp
// Description: Test and develop a version of the exp() function - main() has test
// code to check and see if this version of exp() function works properly.

#include <iostream>
#include <cmath>
#include <cstdlib>

using namespace std;

// double factorial(int N) - returns the factorial variable N
// Please add the code necessary to calculate the factorial of the number represented by N

double factorial(double N) {
    double return_val = 1;

for(int i = 1; i <= N; i++){
        return_val = return_val * i;
    }

return return_val;
}

// A clone of the system exp() function.
// Please do not use the system exp() function in the creation of your function.
double E_to_X(double X) {
    double i, e = 0, total = 0;

for(i = 0; i <= X; i++){
        e = pow(X, i) / factorial(X);
        total = total + e;
    }

return total;
}

// You can change main() in anyway you want
int main() {

cout << fixed << "E_to_X(0) is " << E_to_X(0) << " should be 1" << endl;
    cout << fixed << "E_to_X(1) is " << E_to_X(1) << " should be 2.718" << endl;
    cout << fixed << "E_to_X(2) is " << E_to_X(2) << " should be 7.38" << endl;
    cout << fixed << "E_to_X(3) is " << E_to_X(3) << " should be 20.006" << endl;