Recommended book for good C++ structure

Hello C++ betters,

I wanted to ask your opinion on what you think is a very good book for further education (or even a web-site or other resource) for further learning about practical application structuring of good C++ programming.

In short, I am an engineer and have been out of C++ programming for a little while which might as well be 100 years in today's terms. Knowing this, I know conventions have changed a little for the C++ community and there are very good efficient ways of doing EVERYTHING.

So where I'm going with this is==> is there a good reference that the guru's here recommend that I could read or visit that demonstrate the best practices for good C++ programming and overall program layout and structuring. The one thing about C++ is that it is so dang powerful and that the users have SO MANY choices of doing things - that I figured there has to be a book or resource that pretty much lays out how best practices for structuring programs and what recommendations for containers, data handling, strong type security, overloading, over-riding, polymorphism, single inheritance vs. multiple inheritance etc. goes.

Does this request make sense? Or is it just too broad and generalized? To put it bluntly==> a "how to manual" with today's best practices for C++ program writing for those of us who are NOT Computer Science or Computer Engineers but still need to use the language's power for research or robotics etc...

Thank you for your help people!

Xanadu
Take a look at The Definitive C++ Book Guide and List:
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/388242/the-definitive-c-book-guide-and-list/388282#388282

Xanadu4ever wrote:
a "how to manual" with today's best practices for C++ program writing
These links from the guide would be relevant, I think:
The C++ Core Guidelines http://isocpp.github.io/CppCoreGuidelines/CppCoreGuidelines#main
and the (slightly older) The C++ Super-FAQ https://isocpp.org/faq
Last edited on