need advice

Hi guys,

so I've been programming on and off for about 3 years now or maybe a little longer, but to be honest I've never made anything I can reflect on and say that was a successful project that either changed my life or changed the lifes of other people or even a project I can look back at and say that's pretty cool. The "biggest" project I've ever worked on was a library program, this program was a GUI tool that kept track of a users book collection, the user had options to add a book to the library, search by author or ISBN or name of the book and also rate it. This information was stored in a database using mySQL as the database language. The program was built in Java and was designed using a model view controller pattern.

I know this is quite a vague question but what do I really need to know to actually start building useful applications that would land me a developer job or give me the experience to get said job?

I would like to think I have a semi decent understanding of the C++ language and I can write trivial programs with ease, such as the questions you would see on codechef or questions in programming books.

I have a good understanding of the following - iteration,recursion,polymorphism, inheritance, data structures such as vectors,binary search tree, linked lists, classes , pointers , etc etc