Two blocking tasks on the same thread

Hello!

Though I have several years of programming experience, I have little experience with C++. So, maybe this topic belongs in the beginner section. I'm familiar with writing async code within a single thread. But, lately, I want more speed.

Generally, my question is this: If I have a blocking web server, can I have a non-blocking periodic timer on the same thread?

The specifics:
- I'm using https://github.com/uNetworking/uWebSockets for a web socket server. For this server "The event loop will block until no more async work is scheduled, like for Node.js." So, after I start the server, no more code will be executed on the server-running thread

- While the server is running, I also need a periodic timer to broadcast messages to the clients at some interval. I've found some ways to implement a periodic timer, but ultimately they all block execution on the thread. Even the boost::asio timer with async_wait() will block once the timer is running.

My conclusion is that I must run this periodic timer in a separate thread, perhaps using std::thread with detach(). Is this reasonable?

P.S.: The preview feature was displaying an empty post before submitting this post. However, now that I'm editing it, the preview feature is working.
Last edited on
I think you are correct to use 2 threads.
I think you are correct to use 2 threads.

Thanks for your response. I'm glad to hear this.