(*this)-> question

Hello

I came over a strange function at my new job today. From what it looks like to me it is a function calling itself until it trows an exception. I have asked around here at work but no one seems to be able to explain what the code is suppouse to do other than setting some values. One theory someone came up with was that it might be comunication between c++ and c# code (which I have never done or seen before). This might be the case as I have a similar c# project with the same functions in the same solution.

void CSomeClass::SetSomeVal(double valu1, double valu2, double valu3)
{
    try{
          (*this)->SetSomeVal(valu1, valu2, valu3);
    }
    catch (ArgumentOutOfRangeException^ e) {
          trow SomeArgumentOutOfRangeExceptionFunction(e);
    }
    catch (Exception^ e) {
          trow SomeExceptionFunction(e);
    }
}

I cant debug the code because my version of the project is unable to build yett. It would be really great if someone has any knowlage of what the intention behind this code might be.

Michael
However, the syntax used is incorrect and unnecessary. this is a pointer to the instance of the class from which the function was called. So *this is the instance itself.

The syntax (*this)-> attempts to dereference the instance, not the pointer. This is only applicable when your class is some pointer-like type which overrides the -> (pointer to member) operator.

You need either (*this).SetSomeVal(valu1, valu2, valu3) or this->SetSomeVal(valu1, valu2, valu3). The second notation is more frequently used AFAIK.

However, the use of the this pointer in this context is not necessary anyway. If you call a class member function from within another class member function, you don't need to call it via a class instance: this->SetSomeVal(valu1, valu2, valu3); becomes this: [/code]SetSomeVal(valu1, valu2,valu3);[/code].

Ignore; I didn't read the question too closely... sorry
Last edited on