how to find ip adress of running server

hi
i have a server program running. now i need to specify the ipaddress of this server in a txt file. the client program reads the user defiened ip adress when it starts and connects to the server. this work OK, but

instead of this way of operation, i want a function in the client program to read the ipaddress of the server program to a variable in the client program
which then use the value of this variable to connect to the server

the reason for wanting this function instead is that the server address will vary for different users
and it is better to have it automaticely detected in order to get rid of the txt file and the following user installation problems

the installation process will be much cleaner with this approach

is there anyone who can give me some ideas on how to do this?
a c++ code examples would be great as i am quite new with c++

can i i.e. read the register or other system variables by referring the server name. the name of my server program is i.e rioc.exe

the server and client program are both win32 app, not concole

rgs
you want to input the ip addess ..right ?
yes,

i want the server ipadress to be inputed to the client program so it can connect to the server withou any need for user input.

if i can get the address into a variable in the client program i can do the rest
rgs
Last edited on
I don't think you can do that. The whole point of client/servers is that they can be disconnected and that the client can connect to any number of servers that are all different by inputting the IP of the one they want to connect to.

If your IP won't change, then just hard code it into the program. If it changes, there is no way to get it.
hi,

the server address don't change per user. it is the same every time let say USER A start up the server on his specific local network, but the addresst is different ( or most likely ) different for USER X when he is running the server program on his localnetwork.