Trying to do Explicit specialization of member function template

Hello everybody. Im fairly new to C++ and Ive been trying to teach it to myself as fast as possible, so I can later jump to program with DirectX in VC soon (I have some experience with C). Right now, I am studying templates and I have a problem with the following code:

// Test.h
#ifndef TEST_H
#define TEST_H
#include <iostream>

class Test 
{
  public:
    template <typename T>
    void function (T data) {
      std::cout << data << std::endl;
    }
};

// Specialization of template function
template <>
void Test::function (char data) {
  std::cout << 'Z' << std::endl;
}

#endif // TEST_H

// main.cpp
#include <iostream>
#include "include\Test.h"

int main ()
{
  Test t = Test();
  t.function(15);
  t.function('a');
  return 0;
}

I am trying to compile this with g++ in CodeBlocks 10.05, but the linker gives me an error in line 16 of Test.h, saying: multiple definition of void Test::function <char> (char) first defined here

Can somebody please tell me what am I doing wrong and how to properly explicitly specialize class member functions?
Also, I want to know if it is proper to define templates in the header files, or should I do it in the source files? I know that templates must be defined when there are declared but, is it possible to separate templates in a header and a source file?

Sorry for doing so many questions at once, but I want to be sure =D
I appreciate your responses.
Last edited on
The reason that templates have to be defined in headers is that the compiler wouldn't know for which template parameters to compile the code and which functions to instantiate. However in case of full template specialization, this question is no longer there - and the function is compiled as normal. So when you include your header in several files - the function is defined in multiple object files, which leads to the error you get.