Why is Java more popular than C++

Pages: 123... 6
:[

Also, what's the difference between C++ and Java classes?
It seems a little different in Java. I just started learning
Java.
In Java, inner-classes can either be attached to an instance of the outer class, or they can be static. There are also no constructors.

The main difference is that Java is single-inheritance (extend only one class) multiple-implementation (implement multiple interfaces). Interfaces are like pure virtual classes in C++ but you cannot have data members or concrete methods.
Java isn't more popular than C++, especially in commercial applications. Perhaps as a beginner language in some computer science courses, but not as much in the real world. It is gaining popularity though, so its definitely good to know it.

Difference between the classes... Well, the syntax mainly, and Java has lots of other specific rules regarding classes (makes sense as the whole language is classes) and n Java, everything is a class.
grrrr..... java..... almost as evil as system()
I personally dislike Java, but there is really nothing horribly, macabrely wrong with it.

As to answer the title question, I did a quick Google and found some nice answers.
I started out disliking Java, having learned C++ first, but I eventually realized I was trying to compare and contrast it to C++ - after that I started to accept Java as a language built to support specific design patterns whereas C++ is very general.
closed account (S6k9GNh0)
I don't like Java as a language. I also don't like any general implementation of a language that forces a memory model. I also seem to have gone Java, C, C++, C with hatred of Java. C++ really made me see the complications of OOP programming and how its used in many unnecessary situations. I don't like everything being represented as an Object in Java.
The reason why its so popular is that Java doesn't compile like c++.