Pointer to function

Hi there, I'm fairly new to C++ and I'm attempting to learn how to use pointers. I have the following file that creates coordinates and then moves them in random directions using a random number generator.

The value sigmaf_point is inputted from a text file:

void methane_coords(int &atom_types, double *&sigmaf_point, double *&epsilonf_point, double *&massf_point, int &atom_number, double *&x_point, double *&y_point, double *&z_point, int *&type_point)

<code> double dummy_int = 1;
			string dummystring;
            string s;

ifstream Dfile;
            std::stringstream out;

out << 1;
            s = out.str() + ".TXT";
            Dfile.open (s.c_str());

if (Dfile.fail())
            {
                return;
            }

for (int i=0; i<dummy_int; i++)
			{
            Dfile >> sigmaf_point[i];
			}

Which I then use in another function:

double initial_energy(double **coords_fluid, double **coords_solid, int n_atoms, const double *box_size){

// Loop over all pairs of atoms and calculate the LJ energy
    double total_energy = 0;

for (int i = 0; i <= n_atoms-1; i++)
    {   

sf1=sigmaf_point(coords_fluid[i][3]);
		    ef1=epsilonf_point(coords_fluid[i][3]);

// Energy fluid-fluid
			for (int j = i+1; j <= n_atoms-1; j++)
			{...
                        }			

coords_fluid is created in the main file like so:

double **coords_fluid = new double*[5000];
for (int i = 0; i < n_atoms_methane; i++)
{
	coords_fluid[i] = new double[4];
}

Now the problem is with `sf1=sigmaf_point(coords_fluid[i][3]);

I get the error "expression must have pointer to function type" for sigmaf_point. I'm a bit confused about this, I know it's about how I call the variable but can't seem to fix it.

Cheers
First, you should avoid using "pointer" too much!!! (especially in this situation - say honestly that's insane) In general it's extremely dangerous. I recommend you use the vectors instead.
Second :