Brand spankin new to C++

Okay, so recently it dawned upon me that I wanted to start programming. And I have almost no background in this kind of stuff at all. I took a quarter or Computer science 1, and that wasn't really too interesting to me. I would rather work at my own pace...

Anyways, as I'm just starting out. I have already decided that I want to start in C++, because I jumped around from site to site reading about where to start with no previous knowledge. . .

Now also reading, I have decided to download Ubuntu, a Linux Distro as you know. And I got Notepad ++ to work in. But the trouble is finding "good" tutorials. Meaning tutorials that are made for people with absolutely no knowledge what so ever. A step by step with pictures maybe...

I have no end goal to programming, I just know that it's something I would really like to learn and I've got the time to learn it, at my own pace... But again with the tutorial, it would be better if it was actual text instead of a video...

I'm sure you guys get many people just starting out, but any advice or anything would be welcomed. Thanks!
Last edited on
There are lots of books out there and tutorials. TheNewBoston has videos on c++.
first dont use notepad++. use textedit and gcc which should be implemented into your terminal. if you want to cut corners use eclipse or code blocks which are ides.
third here are some c tutorials that i started out on. i know that its not c++ but it will compile as valid c code and that way you have a base for learning c++ and the tutorial u use wont matter then
http://www.linfo.org/create_c1.html
Hi Copy - Welcome to cplusplus forums !!

http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/

Have a read of this.

There is also a lot of good stuff in the reference section, and don't forget your best friend Google

When you post your code, don't forget to put it inside code tags - use the <> button on the bottom of the page for a new thread, or on the right in a post.