Permission Denied in Ubuntu

I've been using Code::Blocks in Windows 7 without any problems. I recently installed Ubuntu 12.10 and downloaded Code::Blocks with GCC compiler. After writing a console application, the program(if there are no errors) builds without any problem. But after i run it, the console window says-Permission denied. I tried changing the directory in which the projects are saved, but in vain. Please help!
Weird. You sure the permissions are set correctly when you do an 'ls -l' command?

You could trying 'sudo'ing it.
I'm new to ubuntu!....Please elaborate!!!!
If you run terminal, navigate the the directory where your application is and type 'ls -l', it should list the contents of the directory with the associated permissions.

If you let me know what the left most column is, I should be able to tell if the permissions are correct.

The column in question should have 10 characters and is usually made up of r, w and x characters.
Last edited on
The project directory is /media/sucho/Edication/Linux-Code::Blocks....i dont have a clue about ubuntu!!!...very sorry for nagging, but i even dont know to navigate directories by terminal! i dont know where code::blocks is installed as i installed it from software centre!!!....wen i run the program the console window says-sh:1: /media/sucho/Edication/Linux-Code::Blocks/Cleanup/bin/Debug/Cleanup:Permission denied (Cleanup is the ptoject name)
Thats all i'm getting right now!!! :-(...Previously a sane kind of problem arose in windows wgen i set the project folder in C:, so instead of changing the security settings i changed the project directory. But this does not help in ubuntu!
are you trying to run the application with a debugger? In other words, are you running the application by pressing "F8"? If so, you are most likely getting a Ptrace error. A way to fix this error is to do:
"sudo echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/yama/ptrace_scope" in a terminal.