Warning : '<' signed/unsigned incompatibility error

Hi all!

I'm really brand new to C++ and I'm currently learning it for fun. I'm working on prototype functions, and I got an error I can't figure out!

I get an error saying “warning : '<' : signed/unsigned incompatibility” but I haven't defined an unsigned int anywhere. Actually, I don't even really know much about them except that they allow bytes from -127 to 127 instead of 0 to 256 for signed int's if I understood correctly...

The function itself is supposed to make a pointer go to the end of a string and add the Null Byte at the end. There's probably an already-existing way to do so, but I don't know it. Plus it is fun making this.

In the below code I'll be making comments for most lines so you may correct me if I'm not doing what I think I am.
Anyway, here's the code of my "my_fct.h" header file :

#include <stdio.h>   //Includes basic functions necessary in C as 'scanf' or 'printf'.
#include <string.h>  //Includes string functions such as 'strcpy' or 'strcmp'.
#include <iostream>  //Not sure about what this does.

int strend(char[]);  /* Specifies the existence of a function 'strend' that uses a char
                      * string as argument and that returns a value of integer type. */

char string[];       //Declares a global string called 'string'.

int strend(char string[])  /* Declares a function that uses the global string 'string'
                            * as argument. */
{
	int i;
	char *pointer=string; //Declares a pointer '*pointer' that points to 'string'.

for (i=0 ; i<strlen(string) ; i++) /* Repeat as many times as the number of
                                            * characters of 'string'. */
		*pointer++; //'Pointer' points to the character next to the one it was pointing.

*pointer='\0';  //Adds the null byte after the 'for' loop is ended.

return 0;  //If the function was successful, return the value '0'.
}
Last edited on