Help needed - Type Casting

Hi,

I am new to static_cast. Can somebody please explain me the output for below 2 cases :
case 1) in class A use void display() - output-> In B
case 2) in class A, use virtual display() - output-> In A

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

class A{
public:
void display();
};
void A::display(){
cout<<"In A "<<endl;
}
class B:public A{
public:
void display();
int a;
};
void B::display(){
cout<<"In B "<<endl;
}
int main() {
A *objA = new A;
B *objB = static_cast<B*>(objA);
objB->display();
}
Please edit your OP to use code tags - it will make your code much easier to read.

Please use the format tag to format your code. It's pretty much unreadable otherwise.

Static cast means, "Please convert that thing to to something of this specified type using C++ conversion rules".

In this case, you're playing around with inheritance trees. Step back and look at this example. Let's forget about methods for now.
class C
{
public:
    long lvar;
};

class DI : base C
{
public:
    int ivar;
};

class DD : base C
{
public:
    double dvar; 
};

How do they look in memory?
* C occupies enough space to hold a long. let's say 8 bytes.
* DI needs to hold a long and an int, let's say 12 bytes.
* DD needs to hold a long and a double, let's say 16 bytes.

Let's look at some casts.
C *obj = new DI;    // create DI, (long + int) 12 bytes

DI *objdi = static_cast<DI*>(obj);  // objdi points to a DI, it is a DI so that's ok
objdi->ivar = 7;   // this is ok

DD* objdd = static_cast<DD*>(obj);  // objdd points to a DI, this is NOT ok, but
                                    // the compiler allows it
objdi->dvar = 7.3;   // this is wrong, the assignment overwrites the beyond the end
                     // of the object and corrupts the following 4 bytes. 

So, if you know the correct type being pointed to, you can do a static_cast to the derived class. If you get it wrong, there are no rules to stop you and you'll make a terrible mess.