When did you really start programming

Pages: 123... 5
How old were you when you really started programming. How old are you now?

Hello World =/= Programming.

If C++ were your first language, at what age did you understood functions, object oriented programming, memory management, templates, etc.
13 years old.

I started programming when I was 12(C++ was my first language and I still use it). I've done quite a lot since then but I wouldn't say I've mastered all the aspects of the language. It's probably going to take me more than 1 year in order to become advanced in the ways of C++ :P
I started at 11 with "The Games Factory", which was event-grid programming. I got the basics of logic from it and then a few years later learned C++ so I could write extensions for the software, I think when I was 14 or 15.
I started at 18 with Java in college. I'm 20 now with knowledge of html, java, c and c++...some knowledge of each language that is.
At age 12, I learnt python and then at age roughly 15/16 I started learning C++ and I understood functions, OOP, memory management and templates within about 3 months. And was able to use them in a useful program after about another 6 months.
28 -_-
I started around 14, maybe 15.
closed account (zb0S216C)
I started at 16/17. I started with Lua, then moved onto Python, then moved onto C followed by C++ and x86 assembly. I'm 21 now, going on 22.

Wazzak
What ever happened to Albatross? I'd love to hear her story.
I started at 13 with C++ as a first language (and still the only language I can do anything useful with). After playing with C++ other things like Java just don't look so appealing.

L B wrote:
What ever happened to Albatross?
She disappeared some time ago. Maybe if we all collectively will Albatross to the forums she'll appear. :b
ive noticed you guys miss albatross before
Thumper wrote:
After playing with C++ other things like Java just don't look so appealing.