Pokedex & Mobile face recognition app

Hi folks, new to the programming scene and I am a noob. I have been doing a lot of reading and not enough programming in my first month at this, so please excuse me if I sound like I'm dreaming. I am just starting C++ so sorry if I sound niave.

I've had this thought of making a real world pokedex a few years back, but never realizing that it may be possible until I started really diving into programming.

Here's my thoughts, and feel free to comment/bash/laugh or giggle (whatever works for you). I will just list some of my inital thoughts on the subject and i don't claim the idea because some manga artist had it first. Also was wondering if any group out there would be interested in taking on the task. It can lead to a great product=money (look, money was assigned to product!). that was my attempt at a programming joke.

Alright, lets get started.

Platform would be mobile devices with high def camera/ large mega pixel combination device. Of course phones and tablets do not currently have these things. But my current solution would be using an external camera or a device that can be attached to a mobile device. You can see where a high def camera and large mega pixel camera would be needed for this and will not get into it.

I've noticed that many camcorders these days have face recognition squares. Not to recognize someone but it locks on the faces of indivduals in a shoot. This was a stepping stone idea that could can be improved for the face recognition portion of the application. A touch creen device will allow the user to speciify the item being researched/inquired about. Much like face recognition, the image will be compared to specific points of an object/item with a library of different angles and points regardless of the image position. This also calls for feed back and improvements that can take place in a short period of time if an item is not on file.