BBS

Were Bulletin Board Systems not as popular in the late 80s early 90s as I thought they were? I have a small circle of friends who I met BBSing. I realize not a lot of people did them but... I'm a Software Engineering student at 32. I started my first internship at a aviation software company. I'm surrounded by programmers, and tech people all the time, at work and school. And none of them know what the hell I'm talking about when I make a Renegade reference, or Terminate, or Ripterm. To me, this was the internet before it was common in households. Am I the only one out there who remembers this scene?
they all turned into warez doodz and hung out on IRC after that, you want to talk to old amiga enthusiasts in their late forties
closed account (z05DSL3A)
you want to talk to old amiga enthusiasts in their late forties

*Waves*
old amiga enthusiasts in their late forties

Early 50s. but you just described my dad. Who supposedly ran the most frequented BBS system on the eastern half of the US.

I got to play with his amiga once. He still has it. it's one of the ones that has "rock lobster" written on the board in the wiring.
An old timer huh?

Yankey Trader sound familiar?

You are speaking of a time when modems were external and screamed at you. BBS were not popular back then and generally if you weren't part of the geek secret society, nobody knew what the hell you were talking about. Basically if you dialed a wrong number and heard screaching on the other end, you knew to use your modem and call again and see what was up there.

"L8r" dude.
Can we talk about the amiga? cause I'd really like to see the amiga come back full force.
i love the amiga, i got an amiga emulator working on my machine, they still havent made games as satisfying as settlers 1 and k240, i love those games, the amiga got no credit for showing everyone how to make a house hold comp and its games and apps, Why did the PC beat the amiga??
devonrevenge: