How often does a computer (CPU and RAM) make mistakes?

I'm a hobby programmer currently studying actuarial science, so this seems like a logical question for me to ask! We all know that CPUs are highly accurate and have some degree of error correction of internal analogue signals (ie currents between transistors) and even redundant systems, but what is the probability that those will fail? While this is not a pertinent question for the every-day programmer (the fail rate of a CPU is probably infinitesimal for every-day considerations), I find it interesting nonetheless. Let's base the question on an example;

Suppose we have a binary operation:

bool a = true;
bool b = false;

bool test = a == b;

What is the probability of test being assigned a values of true? That is to say, what is the probability that it will incorrectly assign the values or stuff up the boolean test? I'm looking for an answer in terms of a sigma event number or probability (ie. On average, how many times do I have to run this program before it gets it wrong?).

Let's assume some typical 64-bit PC architecture.

Does anyone have experience / thoughts on this?
Last edited on
I'm pretty sure an optimizing compiler will realize that test is false and will hardcode it thusly.

Also don't take my word for it but again I'm pretty sure that errors that happen in the CPU are more likely due to flaws in the design than anything else.

Memory chips on the other hand may produce errors which are corrected by means of ECC.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ECC_memory

On average, how many times do I have to run this program before it gets it wrong?

Well if you rewrite your code as:

volatile bool a = true;
volatile bool b = false;
volatile bool test = a == b;

Then I guess it becomes possible for errors to creep in, but even then I'm pretty sure they'll be caused by memory and not CPU.

Unless the CPU caches act crazy... although they're not "regular" memory.
Last edited on