Did you learn C++ in an abnormal way?

I started learning C++ in completely different way from most people - I started by developing plugins for software using the provided SDK. As such, my code was always embedded in a massively huge environment in which half the code was closed source and the other half was in the SDK. So, you can imagine, I had a very difficult time debugging problems:
http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/general/27955/

Not only that, but I never even heard of a "console" until a couple years later, because the only interaction with my code was through the software when it loaded my plugins. I didn't know of any way to isolate and test my code outside of the SDK environment. I also couldn't tell what was "real C++" and what was part of the SDK or a result of the SDK. As such, I always felt helpless to solve problems - I couldn't ask for help here because nobody had knowledge of the SDK, and I couldn't ask for help from the software authors either because they expect that the people using their SDK already know C/C++. I had to learn everything the hard way for a long time, all by myself, and I am glad to be out of that depressing hole.

Has anyone else learned C++ in an abnormal way?
Last edited on
What is your definition of "normal way"? Attending a course and/or online tutorials?
closed account (ypfz3TCk)
I read that the best way to learn is to use c++ so perhaps your experience was not abnormal after all. But what you did sounds complex. We're you employed to do a job?

I'm trying to learn by brute forcing my way through c++ primer. I hope it works for me.
I started with a copy of MSVS 4.0 and some book that explained C++ basics coupled with MFC (don't remember the name).