Advice for beginner programmer

Hi all, I'm looking for some advice as a beginner programmer. I'm learning with several books, mainly Jumping Into C++ by Alex Allain. I don't know a lot yet, but I'm finding that when attempting to practice the things I learn, I run into all sorts of problems. For example, I feel like a simple text adventure would be a great way to practice what I've already learned, but without a word wrap function, it makes everything a complete and utter mess. I found a word wrap function and got some very nice and helpful people to explain its use, but it seems like every time I try to implement it in a new way, it breaks, and I have to come begging for help again which makes me feel bad, like I'm bothering people asking newb questions.

I'm starting to get the feeling that learning to code is extremely hard without a teacher or a skilled friend to help. I know lots of people self-taught themselves, so I was hoping someone might have some advice for the best way to go about that. Should I stick with the books? I find they progress too fast, jumping into new convoluted concepts without giving sufficient time to practice what came before. And again, trying to practice the things I know is a mess without certain functions to format things properly.

Any advice would be appreciated, I know it's kind of a weird question... just looking for some inspiration to get me out of this dejected slump. Thanks!
The best way of learning is by doing. Sounds obvious, and it kinda is.
I've never read a book on C++, nor have I had any sort of formal education. Everything I know was taught to me by the internet, and reinforced by my desire to make a bunch of projects.