Where from did your C++ journey start?

Pages: 1234
the Linus
I'm sorry?
Sorry, Linus Torvalds, I couldn't resist the temptation to compare you to the cartoon character. :)

EDIT: Was that too abstract?

-Albatross
Last edited on
Albatross wrote:
Just make sure the Linus is wearing a Windows T-shirt, and you should be fine.
Haha, I thought that was amusing.
Well, I first heard of C++ in fourth grade, then about two years ago I started learning C++. (I am currently 12)
Amazing how young some people are when they start programming. I didn't start C++ till I was 18. I was 17 when I was doing VB and before that I had spent a couple of years on action script, JavaScript and html. Now I'm full time C++ with my studies, I've had some C# with XNA thrown into my course last year. And I wrote some applications in Java the year before last. I'm 22 now though so I have been programming C++ on and off for 3 years.
Oh, wow. Our birthdays are just three days apart and we started both C++ and programming in general at around the same times.
Last edited on
No, you were born on the 29th of February so you only age on leap years.
You're actually 51/2.
I first attended an intro to java programming at school (not computer science course) when I was 19 then I started to like it. Of course every teacher and book always mention that java is base on c++. After finishing the semester, I decided to learn c++ on my own since it is not offered on the course I'm taking.

So I go to the library then borrow a book and and surf the web. Since I don't have internet connection at home at that time, I feel so lucky when I found a tutorial on this site available for download.

So I read and code on my free time but on about 2 weeks I suddenly stop it. On november of 2009 I joined this forum to continue c++. I am now 20 (on May 1, 2010) and I still consider myself a beginner because of lack of experience.
No, you were born on the 29th of February so you only age on leap years.
You're actually 51/2.