do I need a Java or C++ course?

I am an undergraduate in actuarial science. I have taken a programming course in Visual Basic. I am just not so sure if I need to take another one in Java or C++. I don't like programming course too much coz it takes a lot of time. Could anyone give me some suggestion?
Thanks a lot.
https://diceus.com/need-use-outsource-healthcare-software-development-2/
Last edited on
closed account (367kGNh0)
1)When people employ, they may look for what may be called the "T shaped developer". Another skill, be it a world language or computer language, more often than not makes you more employable.
irisclasson.com/2013/07/08/stupid-question-218-what-are-t-shaped-pi-shaped-and-comb-shaped-skills-and-which-one-should-i-aim-for/
With only VB, you're pretty much an "I", but i don't know your other skills

2)If you want to make cross platform software, you won't get very far with VB, that's only for windows. Java and C++ on the other hand are more easy to establish across platforms

3)Depends on your ambitions, what you're seeking is rather vague.

4)https://imgur.com/a/2eDdw75
Last edited on
TBH, you might be better off with Python.

If you're not "into" programming, then C++ and Java can take a lot of getting used to.

Python is comparatively accessible. You don't have to learn much to get going, and the extensive libraries mean you can get useful stuff up and running quite quickly. These "early rewards" would be important to help you keep momentum.
what do you want to be able to do?