• Forum
  • Lounge
  • What's the point of getting the master d

What's the point of getting the master degree ?

Hey guys, I'm an IT student, so , the question for discussion is this:
Is getting master degree will help me very much to get more paid job ? Or... is it maybe better to spend these 2 additional years trying to jump deeper into industry ?
Well, here in Germany informatics used to be a diplom course. Since those usually lasted 5-6 years, a masters degree is nowadays expected from new graduates. However, depending on where you live the situation may be different, so I can't really tell.
Read this thread: http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/lounge/34850/

When you say your an IT Student, are you majoring in Computer Information Systems (Programming) or Computer Science?
What really counts in business is your ability to program, not the degree. Majoring in CS might be a good way to learn programming, though, but you also have to practice a lot. Usually those guys at universities are better at it than code monk... ehm commercial programmers.

So actually it depends, whether you just want to do boring stuff like retrieving data from the database and putting it into XHTML forms - then masters degree in CS is useless, or some more interesting stuff e.g. natural language processing, searching new medicines, writing software controlling space shuttle or nuclear reactor, etc. However, for really interesting stuff, MSc might be too little. Many guys working in big R&D centers hold at least PhD degree (which of course if you want to get, you have to become MSc first).
Last edited on
@Return 0 , by IT I mean informatics
Last edited on
When a prospective employeer sees that you have a Masters Degree they will imedialty assume that you want more money the someone with a lower degree. You should have the experiance in the field to justify this increased cost weither it's imaginary on the part of the business or not.