• Forum
  • Lounge
  • What's the chance of me becoming a progr

What's the chance of me becoming a programmer?

Pages: 12
Hello,

I am posting this because I'm preety upset, my code doesn't compile and I think I suck at programming in general.
I'm 28, I worked as a servie engineer at different companies since I graduated automation college and now I want to be a programmer.
I'm learning C++ since roughly last december and I switched my job to software testing. I was thinking it should take no less than a year until I would be able to write a simple window application, but I'm bogged down in my own mess understanding classes.

Do you know any people that have succeeded to be hired as programmers with similar background? (unrelated work experience and age)
What are your thoughts/advices for me?

Please be honest, bleak realism is a great incentive for me. :) (but then again, utopian optimism too)
Well dear friend, sometimes it's hard to get into. However keep going. I promise you'll get it, if you keep at it. Some things are difficult to grasp because you have no fundamentals for them.
Classes/structs are just manufacturers. Like real life objects, the objects that they make can do things and store information.
Atleast, your code doesn't compile.
Some people have code that compiles and End up with LOGIC error's. PAIN.

Think of C++ classes as real life objects. Consider a Vehicle. In the C++ code, the engine will be a class, the spark plug will also be a class, the 'atom'(consisting of protons.....)is also a class.

Now, figure out how to put them together (ask a mechanic) and you got a Vehicle.

Do the same for your code.
Find the Classes, then try Composition (used in the above car example-HAS A), then try Inheritance (A Hatchback IS A vehicle and a Bike IS also A vehicle).

Consider reading "Thinking in C++".
Last edited on