Does Touch Typing make any difference to you ?

Pages: 12
I have recently started touch typing . I thought it would increase my typing speed . Yes ,it has done that but I am struggling with symbols . Whenever I have to type any symbol , I have to look at the keyboard which reduces the speed .
.Moreover , my hands feel tired all the time.
Is touch typing important for programmers?
I am a final year student and I know it is very difficult to change the habits acquired over a long time period. Still , I am trying to train my hands and fingers.
Please tell any website where one can practice typing symbols.
Your suggestions are welcome. Thanks.
For those with an attention span, I present Mr Steve Yegge:

http://steve-yegge.blogspot.com/2008/09/programmings-dirtiest-little-secret.html

Edit: Link fixed. That's what I get for cut n' paste from google. I'm switching to Duck Duck Go. They don't fill the copied link with extraneous tracking crap.
Last edited on
The ... isn't helping.

And touch typing? Isn't that something that comes naturally after a while? I occasionally look at the keyboard, but most of the time I can do without it.
Touch typing is just a dumbed down way of saying muscle memory reflex isn't it? That is aquired naturally, in fact I can tell you I got some of my best practice at it just using AIM\Yahoo Messenger and chat rooms. Then again those things were a lot bigger when I was in school.

If you really want to increase your speed to some absurd level though I remember some of our regulars here used DVORK keyboards for a while and they said that felt more natural.
And touch typing? Isn't that something that comes naturally after a while?