Where Can C++ Take an 11 Year Old?

Pages: 123... 5
closed account (N36fSL3A)
Hello, this is Fredbill30 here,

I was wondering were C++ can take me at my age (11). I am an intermediate level programmer in the 7th grade, and I have been programming for about 3-4 months self taught. I am currently creating a game by myself. What I am trying to figure out is where C++ can take me at my age. I have created around 70 programs and I am trying to get into Robotics Club. What I want to do when I get older is to create a software company and a successful game. At my age, do you think I could sell programs, or do something for the school, or get an "apprentice" for a programmer? If so, how could I do it?
How far it takes you is completely up to you. Your age is in no way limiting your programming ability, so how far you get depends on how hard you work.

At my age, do you think I could sell programs, or do something for the school, or get an "apprentice" for a programmer?

You could certainly sell programs (though I advise you to go open-source) if you wanted to. As for doing something for your school, you'd have to ask around. I'm sure people would be happy to let you help if you showed competence.

I'm interpreting "apprentice" as "internship," and unfortunately you probably won't be able to get one at your age.

Good luck.
Last edited on
Thanks, but can you tell me why you suggest me to go open-source?
Open source allows you to work on real world programs, without having to actually get a job with a place and deal with that hassle. Which, at your age, getting a job is kind of impossible at most countries I'd imagine.
Open source allows you to work on real world programs
???
Open source is a kind of software licencing. What are you talking about?