Linux

I would like the Linux 0.01 source code. Where can i get it?
The source code being the code that creates all the files and wipes yours. Pretty much the code behind the install manager, that instead of loading the files, it creates and loads the files with modern libraries, also with a safety so if you compile it your files don't get wiped immediately. It's a lot to ask so I would at least like, the file creation code so i can edit it and create my own linux version.
You already have a thread about "Linux source code". http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/unices/102200/

Linux is a kernel (the core) of an operating system. Linux is not an "install manager". What is this "creating, loading, and wiping of files"?

I'm not sure what your concept of "to compile a program" is.
I am a linux newb. I now understand what the kernal does. What about the firmware? Also, that has to be installed.
What "firmware"? Do you have to install some firmware when you install MS Windows or Apple OSX?
Linux 0.01 Source : https://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/Historic/linux-0.01.tar.gz
Beware 0.01 Source is not meant for practical use today it is like 20 years old.
After getting acquainted with 0.01 consider getting 2.x or 3.x source.

Firmware :
In electronic systems and computing, firmware is the combination of persistent memory and program code and data stored in it.
-Wikipedia
you probably dont install such a firmware on your pc.

Get a linux OS like Kubuntu or linux mint and dual boot with m$-windows.Then,from inside this latest linux distribution do your tinkering and research in linux.
You probably have many misconceptions , try solving them , know more about computers ,OSes etc.
Last edited on
I would like the Linux 0.01 source code. Where can i get it?

You were given the download link before. You were told how to unpack the linux-0.01.tar.gz archive.

Why did you start a new thread about this?
closed account (G309216C)
Hi,

WORD OF ADVICE: